Instant Messenger Viruses?
WARNING DO NOT CLICK ON THE LINK
The strangest thing happened today. I was using IM when the following message came through:
“From John Charles: Is this really you???!!! http://pictures.templates4friends.com/pictures.php?email=myaddress.com ”
Because the email came from ‘John’ who is our security guy at my ISP, I didn’t even stop to check if anything was unusual. Anyway, when I clicked on the link it tried to download a virus onto my machine!
I quickly called John to see if he knew and he said the same thing happened to him and before he realised, he was infected!
Now I’ve heard of viruses coming via attachments on IM, but as a link? John said he’d never seen this before.
Has anyone else seen this before?
Bookmark & Share
Related Posts
- HiYo Instant Messenger Addon
- Wavigo Adds Skype To Its All-in-one Instant Messenger
- Virus Warning! Don't Open Emails Entitled "You've received a greeting from a family member!"
- US Teenagers Prefer Instant Messaging
- Windows Live Messenger Invites Available
- Does Spam Still Bother You?
- MSN Messenger 8.0 Features Leaked - Do We Need all These Features?





Comment by Anonymous on 10 May 2005:
I had this today with a friend of mine, and was suspicious of it being a virus, so checked, I am still looking around, fast spreading if you got it yesterday.
Comment by Anonymous on 10 May 2005:
had this problem today with all of the people I work with. total mess. luckily only 5 people clicked the link, but still a major pain in the ass.