Is Someone Sending Me Personal Messages Via Adsense?


I just spotted the banner below on my site. Is someone trying to send me personal messages via Google Adsense, or is this some kind of clever Google Adsense campaign that works out who the author is?

It only seems to display when I visit the page so I think somehow it’s targeted to me!

Update: It’s being displayed to all users.

Everton

Whoever placed the ad is wasting their money though as I never click my own ads as I don’t want to risk getting banned by Adsense.

Bookmark & Share

Related Posts

About the Author

author photo

Everton is based in London and has worked in the internet and mobile space for over ten years now, and before that worked in corporate strategy and consulting. He has a degree in Economics from Cambridge University, and currently runs the Portal and online operations for one of the largest ISPs in the UK. He also writes for Windows 7 News.

See All Posts by This Author

There Are 17 Responses So Far. »

Pages: « 2 [1] Show All

  1. #10

    Seems a new and innovative method of advertising to me .

  2. #9

    What`s wrong with the Ad?!
    It`s a cool idea that`ll drive the advertiser traffic and get you some cash in back! :)

  3. #8

    Gotta say that messge is a bit creepy.

    I think Thilak’s right on. Hate to break it to you Everton, but when you have a very public image (on purpose) like many of the more high profile bloggers in present comany, “fans” can come with the territory. We get some interesting ones now and then too. :-)

    Have an awesome day!
    Dan

  4. #7

    This is a clear sign of you gaining popularity within the blogosphere. Well done!

    I’m not sure acquiring a stalker is a good thing!

  5. #6

    This is a clear sign of you gaining popularity within the blogosphere. Well done!

  6. #5

    I first noticed these recently on my friend Steve Olson’s site - - John Chow was “AdSense IM’ing him”.
    http://www.steve-olson.com/how-the-public-school-system-crushes-souls/

    You should see the ad say something like “I love Steve Olson - Your blog rocks. From John Chow.” :-)

    Also John Chow just put out his blog revenues and costs for February, and I noticed he spent “$418.94 in Google “IM” Ads to Darren Rowse and other bloggers”. Here’s the URL:
    http://www.johnchow.com/making-money-from-a-blog-february-2007/

    Have an awesome day!
    Dan

  7. #4

    I don’t understand this ad as well. But it is a very interesting strategy that is a sure fire way to get noticed by a site owner :) But is it really worth the money?

  8. #3

    A number of sites have been doing “AdSense IM” recently to cross promote and try to grab readers from other sites.

    Darren Rowse (of Problogger.net) gets a lot of these. John Chow seems to be the guy that started this “AdSense IM” thing - he started by just leaving sort of “hello Darren Rose” comments and it grew into a back and forth sort of deal. It’s done by clicking the “Advertise on this site” link and then purchasing an AdWords ad specific to the site in question.

    If you’re willing to spend the money it can be a pretty good way to introduce yourself to the readership of another blog - I think it also offers a bit of a tip (money wise) to the person who’s site your buying the ad on.

  9. #2

    but how did ‘Everton’ appear in the ad?

  10. #1

    I don’t quite get you, Everton. From what I understand, the ads says that he knows you secret on how to earn that much using AdSense, and says sorry for that. On the site, he’s selling a report on how to do so. But then, I don’t think he’s the author of the site, as it’s a referral link.

Pages: « 2 [1] Show All

Subscribe without commenting

Post a Response


Comment Policy: Any comments are permitted only because the site owner is letting you post, and any comments could be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner.